Week 4

This has been the toughest week for me with the course material.  I am actually more committed to my yoga practice and a regular mediation practice.  That is really amazing to me and really the most important thing that I wanted out of this course.  My goal has helped me stick to this with spending 30 minutes on course material and/or yoga and mediation daily.

The off switch – This has been a useful practice for me.  I found myself turning to this several times this week.  When dealing with a crabby child (mine) and while in traffic (on several, several occasions).  It is an important thing for me to be able to recognize when I am annoyed and angry and allow it to be without acting upon it.  The off switch is giving me that ability to do just that.  I am definitely still a work in progress.

Exploring Common Humanity – This was really, really tough for me.  Perhaps one of my self limiting beliefs should have been “I am not good at meditating”.  Sitting with this for 30 minutes was impossible.  I tried to revisit this several times throughout the week.  It never went well and I just ended up frustrated.  I clearly need to keep coming back to this practice.  I think the fact that it was so hard signals the need to complete it.

This week I really enjoyed the interview with Dr. Kristin Neff.  I also enjoyed the exercises from her website (not that I did them all by any means).  I look forward to using her exercises more as time goes on.

Leave a comment